Recommended fantasy and SciFi books based on my personal reviews.

Recommended fantasy and SciFi books based on my personal reviews. Popular authors along with some good independent ones are listed and reviewed. You can register and list and track your favorites also.
Filters
146 results - showing 1 - 10  
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 »  
Ordering 
 
Dragon Weather
Dragon Weather Featured
 
0.0
Fantasy Matthew WhiteMatthew White   July 10, 2017   39   0

Books

Publish Date
Book Formats
Arlian had never left his home village in the Obsidian Mountains. The green hills, white peaks, and black glass were all he had ever known of life, and though he dreamed of travel and adventure, he knew deep in his heart that he would probably never leave.Until the dragon weather came. Incredible heat, oppressive humidity, dark and angry clouds . . . and dragons. Dragons with no feelings, no empathy, no use for humans; dragons who destroyed his entire village and everyone in it. Everyone, that is, except Arlian.Orphaned and alone, Arlian the child is captured by looters and...
The Ten-Cent Plague: The Great Comic-Book Scare and How It Changed America
 
5.0
All Other Genres Matthew WhiteMatthew White   July 10, 2017   86   0
The story of the rise and fall of those comic books has never been fully told -- until The Ten-Cent Plague. David Hajdu's remarkable new book vividly opens up the lost world of comic books, its creativity, irreverence, and suspicion of authority. In the years between World War II and the emergence of television as a mass medium, American popular culture as we know it was first created—in the pulpy, boldly illustrated pages of comic books. No sooner had this new culture emerged than it was beaten down by church groups, community bluestockings, and a McCarthyish...
NPCs
NPCs Featured
 
5.0
Fantasy Matthew WhiteMatthew White   July 10, 2017   110   0

Books

Publish Date
What happens when the haggling is done and the shops are closed? When the quest has been given, the steeds saddled, and the adventurers are off to their next encounter? They keep the world running, the food cooked, and the horses shoed, yet what adventurer has ever spared a thought or concern for the Non-Player Characters?In the town of Maplebark, four such NPCs settle in for a night of actively ignoring the adventurers drinking in the tavern when things go quickly and fatally awry. Once the dust settles, these four find themselves faced with an impossible choice: pretend to...
On Top of Spumoni
 
5.0
All Other Genres Matthew WhiteMatthew White   May 31, 2017   126   0

Books

Publish Date
Book Formats
Cooper Spanoli is as imperfect as anyone of us feel. Living in the metropolis of Chicago, surrounded by beautiful women, he stumbles through life always looking out of the corner of his eye. Playing Dungeons & Dragons, going to comic conventions and his favorite past time; cooking and eating, doesn't leave much time for love. Enter -- Jacqueline Price. Daddy's perfect little princess and mommy's mini me - a gorgeous socialite-in- training who has everything a girl could ask for- money, looks, and a smokin' hot boyfriend. Has she found the love of her life or is he at...
Book-Court-of-Nightfall.jpeg
 
3.0
Fantasy Matthew WhiteMatthew White   May 12, 2017   240   0

Books

Publish Date
From USA TODAY bestselling author of Vampire Girl, Karpov Kinrade brings a new twist to vampire and angel lore. Perfect for fans of Twilight and Angelfall.You think you know what is right and what is wrong? Then tell me if this man should die. He is my enemy. He is to be my end.He is the one I love.I have spent my life in shades of grey. I have died and returned to a world of color. I have fought an Angel and lived. I have kissed the Prince of Ravens. I have faced the Lord of Night and...
Chaos Awakens
Chaos Awakens Featured
 
5.0
Fantasy Matthew WhiteMatthew White   May 11, 2017   257   0

Books

Publish Date
Book Formats
For hundreds of years, the orcs and humans of Doros have shared an uneasy peace. It shatters in an instant with the botched assassination of a human priest in the orc capital. Hell bent on revenge, the humans take up arms as the orc monarchy crumbles from outside interference. Now Tace, the unlucky assassin, is on the run. It's soon clear, however, that her mistake hasn't only precipitated a war. It's unleashed ancient powers, the stuff of legends and fireside tales—and not the cozy kind. Tace has always worked solo, but to save...
SAVAGE SWORDS
 
0.0
Fantasy landofoyr   May 09, 2017   282   0

Books

Book Excerpt
Publish Date
Book Formats
A warband of hardened mountaineers enters the infested, with demon spawn, jungle. The mountaineers led by young Gonan, a brutal barbarian, face nightmarish ambushes in the face of demonic mutations. Blood flows as battles occur in one of the darkest places of the world. The fight is to death and there can be only one survivor. This is the first tale of the tribute to the great old one series. The series will honor writers and artists that cultivated heroic/epic fantasy. The tales take place in the epic fantasy world "Land of Oyr". There is also a full appendix...
SAVAGE SWORDS
 
0.0
Book Excerpts landofoyr   May 09, 2017   140   0
1 ENTER THE JUNGLE <!--[endif]--> The mercenary unit entered the jungle using more caution than necessary. Many expeditions in the past had tried to infiltrate the unknown lands, covered with thick trees and unnatural wildlife, and failed. This time the king of Nemeator chose men from the mountainous regions fighters and survivors, men both tough and cautious, suitable for such task. He had allied with their clans and added them to his kingdom. Their only obligation was to offer military service. This would be the first such obligation. To lead them, the king chose a...
The-Scourge-of-Muirwood.JPG
 
3.0
Fantasy Matthew WhiteMatthew White   May 07, 2017   110   0

Books

Publish Date
When a deadly plague is unleashed in the land of Muirwood, the fate of the world is placed in the hands of a young woman named Lia. Charged to be a magical protector, Lia volunteers to be sent on a desperate quest to rescue the squire Colvin, her love, and his pupil Ellowyn Demont, the alleged heir to the fallen kingdom of Pry-Ree. Still recovering from the injuries of her last adventures, Lia sets off across land and sea warning the kingdom of the oncoming plague. The journey leads her...
Book-The-Blight-of-Muirwood.jpg
 
4.0
Fantasy Matthew WhiteMatthew White   April 17, 2017   192   0

Books

Publish Date
In The Blight of Muirwood, the second book in the Muirwood Trilogy, Lia finds herself filled with inner turmoil after the great battle of Winterrowd that led to the death of the wicked king and her closest ally. Despite her reservations, Lia is called to be an official protector of Muirwood Abbey and is charged to employ her magic to defend Ellowyn Demont, the lost heir of the fallen kingdom of Pry-Ree. Her duties are put to the test when the Queen Dowager arrives in Muirwood accusing the Aldermaston, the abbey’s overseer, for the king’s death. Amidst the turmoil,...
146 results - showing 1 - 10  
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 »