One Second After

One Second After

Featured Hot
F March 21, 2017
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1453   0
Write Review
One Second After

Books

Author
William R. Forstchen
Book # in Series
1
Publish Date
April 26, 2011

New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.

Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and our end.

The John Matherson Series
#1 One Second After
#2 One Year After
#3 The Final Day (forthcoming)

Other Books
Pillar to the Sky

Editor review

1 reviews

Realistic story about how a small American town would try to survive an EMP strike
Rating 
 
5.0

One Second After is a scary book because you have to ask yourself if it could really happen. Unlike many dystopian books that feel disconnected from our real world this book is shockingly realistic.



The story begins with a history professor/retired military officer explaining to his family that the power should come back on soon after an outage occurs. However, he also wrote a very detailed paper on Electro Magnetic Pulses (EMP) and he fears that is what really happened.



The small town soon finds itself under martial law as grocery stores get looted and every day needs go unfulfilled. The book described the frightening realism of business professional left stranded on the highway in their business suits and clothes, elderly dying due to lack of artificial life support and a lot more. The reader quickly understands how much of our daily needs are shipped by truck and how interdependent we are not on just goods from other states but from the entire world. Medicines are produced with components from everywhere and simple things like the lack of asthma inhalers can kill people.



Then there is the extreme lack of food and even wild game available to feed even a small town of a few thousand people. Everyone goes on such low food rations that weight loss and lethargy due to lack of adequate calories become big issues. Worst yet are the mobs that roam from city to city attacking and killing anyone they can find for their resources and even resort to cannibalism. Local militias are recruited from college kids in order to protect the town.



This was an excellent book that made me want to start stocking up on food but more importantly water and even a good pair of hiking shoes. I read a lot of fantasy and SciFI but this is one of the few books that provide such a realistic story that I wondered if these things could actually happen. I give it five out of five stars and suggest anyone looking for a realistic post-apocalyptic story check it out.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account